Sexy Chipmunks Take the Stage


While eating recently with my son, I activated Pandora from my phone to give us some dinner music. I usually force a Steely Dan or Dixieland station on him, but that night I opted for kid’s music for some variety.  After a few harmless selections, it came on. I paused in mid-bite as female Chipmunks started singing a cover of Beyonce’s, “Single Ladies.”  For the record, I’ve never liked Alvin or any of his Chipmunk cohorts, even as a kid.  They are annoying and to call them entertaining or funny cheapens every other form of media that is entertaining or funny. And now girl Chipmunks–the Chipettes–were singing a Beyonce song.  A song about moving on after a breakup and dancing up on a dude in a club, from the perspective of a woman taunting her ex with her current slutty availability. Her basic sentiment to her ex was this: if you enjoyed having sex with me and my feminine plumbing so darned much, then you should have proposed marriage.  Now that some other random guy wants to enjoy me and my plumbing, you can’t be resentful.

Cuz if you liked it then you should have put a ring on it
If you liked it then you shoulda put a ring on it
Don’t be mad once you see that he want it
If you liked it then you shoulda put a ring on it

Turns out it’s a part of a Chipmunks movie and there’s even a video. What creative team thought this was a cute idea? Supposedly, having the vocals come out of the computer-generated mouths of skanky, dancing rodents makes it fun and silly.  I can’t imagine how much David Cross and Jason Lee were paid to be in these movies.

Leave a Reply

