Putty in Your Hands

On a recent trip to the mountains, I took along my son’s Silly Putty.  I got it for him as a stocking stuffer and he might enjoy his gift if I could put it down for more than 10 minutes.  My wife drove for the first hour of the trip while I played with the Silly Putty.  I balanced each putty creation on my leg and took a picture with my cell phone before giving the sculpture to my son to squish ceremoniously.  Yes, my wife is surprisingly tolerant of my oddball behavior. 

_____________________________

 

Man

His eyes are made of Tic Tacs.

His ears are formless flaps.

His freaky face gets flattened

Every time the fella naps.

_______________________________

  

Worm

Little Doug the Earthworm

Tracked dirt across the floor.

His mom told him to wipe his feet

so he slithered out the door.

_________________________________ 

  
 Wiener

 There’s a peter made of putty

 Sitting on my thigh.

I show it off to truckers

As our car goes speeding by.

_________________________________________

  

Grapes

Here we have some lovely grapes

Upon a cell cord vine.

If you squeeze them in a cup

You’re making silly wine.

 _____________________________________

  

Hand

This candy is an offering

To the travel gods above.

Please bless our car with clear terrain,

Strong bladders and with love.

 ____________________________________

  

Pretzel

Pretzel Logic is a great CD

But Aja is the best,

Yet Donald Fagan’s solo work

Is up there with the rest.

 ___________________________________

  

Bug

Where did this creature come from?

It climbed right up my leg.

I’ll teach it how to fetch a beer,

Roll over and to beg.

 ___________________________________

  

Hat

I brought along my winter hat

In case we see some snow.

It will keep me warm and dry

If I wear it on my toe.

 

Leave a Reply

